The Institute of Communication and Computer Systems is ruled by a seven member Governing Board (G.B) consisting of the Director, Deputy Director three members who are Professors or Associate Professors of SECE, and two members who are Research Scientists of ICCS. The Director, Deputy Director and one member of the G.B are elected by the Senate of NTUA and two members are elected by SECE. The remaining two members of the G.B are elected by the Association of ICCS Scientists.The Director and Vice Director are elected for a 5-year term, and all other members for a 3-year term.

The Institute is an indepedent non profit organisation and has its own Accounting Department which is audited every year by external auditory. ICCS is participating to EC co-funded projects as an Additional Cost Partner.

ICCS is organised in Research Units which are linked with the SECE Laboratories and are leaded by ICCS Research Scientists and SECE Professors.